Information, Technology & Consulting

Automatically empty your email trash


Here are the ways to set your email to automatically empty the trash when you sign out.

Blitz Web Access (BWA)

  1. Click the Gear Wheel icon in the upper right of the window.
  2. Under the My App Settings section, select Mail.
  3. Under the Mail section, select Message Options.
  4. Check the box that says Empty the Deleted Items folder when I sign out.
  5. Click Save.

Outlook 2013 and Outlook 2016 (Windows)

  1. Click the File Tab.
  2. In the navigation pane on the left, click Options.
  3. In the navigation pane on the left, click Advanced.
  4. Under the section titled Outlook start and exit, check the Empty Deleted Items folder when exiting Outlook box.

From then on, when exiting your account, a window will pop-up asking if you are sure you want to permanently delete the items in your Deleted Items folder.

Outlook 2016 (Macintosh)

Outlook 2016 for Macintosh does not have an option to automatically empty the Deleted mail folder when exiting Outlook. To empty, highlight the Delete Items folder, Right Click or press Command + Click, select Empty Folder. Delete Items folder should be emptied regularly to avoid storing deleted messages that may eventually exceed your mailbox quota.

Apple Mail

  1. From the Apple Mail menu bar click Mail then Preferences.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. In the Accounts section on the left, click your Dartmouth account.
  4. Click Mailbox Behaviors.
  5. In the Trash section, under Permanently erase deleted messages when click Quitting Mail.
Email, Communication and Collaboration
Last updated: 
Monday, December 18, 2017

If you have questions or need further information, contact your department's IT support office, or contact the IT Service Desk via email at [email protected], via phone at 603-646-2999 or walk in to see them in Baker/Berry 178J.

Information, Technology & Consulting