Information, Technology & Consulting

Retention Policies

Details

Email Retention

Messages deleted from an email account are retrievable for up to 30 days after the Deleted Items folder (trash) has been emptied. Users can do this themselves using the Outlook for Windows or Macintosh clients, or the https://bwa.dartmouth.edu web interface. After 30 days, these messages cannot be retrieved.

Any message in any Dartmouth account will remain in the account until it is deleted by the user, until the expiration date of the message (set by the individual user) has passed, or 30 days after the account has expired.

Server Log Retention

Logs on the central name servers, the email servers, the WebAuth server, and the network address translation logs are purged after 14 days. Backup copies of these logs are not maintained beyond 14 days.

Topic: 
Policies
Subtopic: 
FAQ
Last updated: 
Tuesday, July 19, 2016

If you have questions or need further information, contact your department's IT support office, or contact the IT Service Desk via email at [email protected], via phone at 603-646-2999 or walk in to see them in Baker/Berry 178J.

Close
Information, Technology & Consulting