Information, Technology & Consulting

Undo Duo's "Remember me for 7 Days" Setting

Step-by-Step

There is a feature enabled in our Duo instance that is called "Trusted Devices". This allows someone who is at the Duo authentication prompt to check a box labeled "Remember me for 7 days". This will trust the device for Duo authentication for 7 days which means you will not see the Duo authentication prompt until 7 days has passed. This also means you will not be able to choose another device for Duo Authentication nor will be able to manage devices for 7 days.

The Trusted Device feature works through the placement of a browser cookie. If you would like to 'cancel' the device trust:

  1. Clear the browser cookies and cache, and restart the browser.(F5 VPN uses an Internet Explorer Window for authentication so the cookie will be located in IE browser cookie cache.)
  2. Reconnect to F5 VPN using Duo 2 factor authentication.
  3. The Duo Authentication prompt will reappear. Uncheck the box next to Remember me for 7 days and continue the authentication process.

 

Topic: 
Email, Communication and Collaboration
Subtopic: 
Dartmouth Accounts
Last updated: 
Friday, August 19, 2016
Meta: 
Duo Trusted Devices

If you have questions or need further information, contact your department's IT support office, or contact the IT Service Desk via email at [email protected], via phone at 603-646-2999 or walk in to see them in Baker/Berry 178J.

Close
Information, Technology & Consulting